The Sims 2: Castaway

I gave in and bought myself a Nintendo DS recently (and I love it!) Not only can I play with my son, but it actually helps me to relax in a weird way.

Metallic Pink, Nintendo DS Lite
Metallic Pink, Nintendo DS Lite

Time does escape you quickly when you’re sucked into a virtual world and that’s the danger and beauty – escape.

I enjoy fighting games like Soul Caliber and Dead or Alive. I don’t usually do quest games or adventure sorts because it makes me dizzy, so I have stayed away from the Nintendo DS because the screen is so much smaller.

But I enjoy the Sims 2: Castaway game. It’s decent. After creating a character, the castaway is stranded on a supposed deserted island and needs to survive. There’s a mood meter that indicates hunger, comfort, hygeine, energy, social and bladder.

Castaway
The Sims 2: Castaway

The first day is dismal as the character eats bugs and needs to collect berries and coconuts.

Soon the character meets other castaways and learns to help others for food and social interaction.

I’m sure expert gamers can finish the game in no time, if that’s the goal. Other than that its a fun way to beat boredom, but like anything else too much can be addicting.

