Soft Drink Cozy

p3120003Since I’ve been crocheting afghans for a little while now, I’ve always been fascinated with knitting, but was a little intimidated with using two needles instead of one.

Before last Christmas, I picked up the knifty knitter looms and managed to make beanies and scarves, but still hadn’t tried kntting with two kneedles.

A friend of mine suggested I start with bamboo, and I didn’t. I tried the regular needles and it was slippery as I learned the thumb cast and the first two stiches: knit and purl.

I purchased bamboo needles and am a a fan. The yarn doesn’t slip as much.

p3120002So my first two projects were disrags using those the knit stitch and purl stitch separetly. While also learning to bind off on both.

My next little challenge was a soft drink cozy. It is a Leisure Arts book pattern for children.

I had a hard time figuring out the knit 1, purl 1 stitch because I never remembered to switch the working yarn back and forth, but eventually got the gist and learned to decrease stitches at the end.

Fun stuff and knitting as scary as I thought, but when I drop I stitch I freak out still.

