Relationship Status Update: myob

When my man and I first got together, he informed me about his ex-girlfriend. He wanted to be honest from the start as we shared details of our lives – good and bad, etc.

I was already aware of her existence because I saw her photos on his Facebook page. They were still up.

I know of Facebook friends who regularly change their relationship status to “In a Relationship” to “Single” to “Engaged” and “Married” but we don’t seem to be the type; It’s not our personality, I suppose to share the status of our personal lives on the Internet. (Yes, that’s why I write a blog – hmmm.)

After a few weeks to a month into our relationship, her pictures were still posted. A single picture of her and one of them together cuddling.  I broached the topic carefully.

“You haven’t taken those pictures down yet,” I mentioned.

“They don’t mean anything to me.”

“I know,” I agreed. “But they’re still up.”

“I rarely go on FB from the computer, I check in from my phone.”

I left it alone and talked to my girlfriend about. She reassured me, “Maybe he just forgot. . .after a few months, it’d get on my nerves.”

Our relationship progressed and I forgot about the pictures. No big deal.

Yesterday, out of sheer boredom, I found myself on Facebook browsing pages and genuinely being nosy since I had nothing to do.

Out of curiosity, I visited his page and thought I’d check the photos section. Gone. I was so happy. Elated. No big deal, but the oh the little gestures prove reassuring that what was once important enough to post to the world about his ex-girlfriend was deleted.

Sure, there are currently no pictures of me or of us together anywhere to share on FB world, nor do our relationship statuses state “In a Relationship”.

Why blog about it? Experience are real, there is nothing new under the sun . . .the names have been omitted, however, for anonymities sake. All in amusement and fun.

I learn to trust.
Credit: Free images from acobox.com

