Growing Up in Compassion

I received a letter from my sponsor child, Ana from Ecuador last week. I am very blessed to receive regular correspondence with all my sponsored children through an organization called Compassion International.

Ana’s letter included a xerox photo of herself and I smiled to realize how much she has grown since I first sponsored her. She is growing up quickly and becoming a beautiful young woman.

The original tomboy photo showed a rather mischievous look on her face, playful. And in the most recent photo, she is wearing jewelry and nail polish. The signs of a growing teenager. I was awed by the development in her letters as well.

scan0102

She writes, “Thank you for the money you sent, I bought clothes that I like very much. Thank you for your gifts, for your prayers and for your letter. I pray for you everyday. I like talking to you through the letters. I went to the pools on Friday and Sunday but on Sunday, before going to the pool, I came to church and I went downtown. How is your family? I hope you are doing well and I want you to know my family is fine. I hope you enjoyed my letter…”

She is maturing in the ways of the Lord, and her needs are met through the Compassion center she attends.  I see the fruit of child sponsorship.

Ana is raised by a grandmother and her drawing depicts the fondness she was for her. I am blessed that I can help nurture a child in poverty.

scan0104

One thought on “Growing Up in Compassion

  1. Aw, the photos won’t show up for me! I always love hearing from our Compassion kids and letter writing has become a passion of mine. My blog focuses on Compassion and inspiring sponsors with ideas to write about and goodies to send. Thank you for spreading the word. What a great organization!

Comments are closed.