Book Review: TrueFaced – Experience Edition

Book Review: TrueFaced – Experience Edition
By Bill Thrall, Bruce McNicol, and John Lynch

Any Believer who has been a Christian for any bit of time may find challenges in the transformation process when in comes to loving people in general, and most especially with those you try to fellowship in church. I wanted to like this book, but unfortunately, I found it confusing and challenging but not so much in the spiritual realm where I want to be challenged as far as growth and self-application is concerned.

TrueFaced had some good intentions, and some good moments but sadly I didn’t find it very likeable or easy to follow. The authors shared about two rooms: The Rooms of Good Intentions and The Room of Grace. While sharing many examples about the two different rooms and what to find there, it lacked the how to or what to do to get out of your masks mainly focusing on trusting God and focusing on Grace.

What intrigued me most about the book was to finally face the reality that Christians do wear masks. I wanted to learn how to get rid of it but did not find a thorough explanation or it lacked of conviction for me as a reader.

Some of the scenarios were inviting, sharing about mature Christians for years covering up their unresolved sins with masks but the writing, and/or presentation fell short of any real suggestions, applications except for finding yourself in the second room of God’s grace rather than the first room of Good Intentions. The answer was an emphasis on Trusting God.

The book ended with encouraging readers toward Discovering God’s Dreams for you, but still left me wondering whether those masks are still in tact or even gone at all. The subtitle states, “trust God and others with who you really are” but I was more interested in masks, and why Christians even find it necessary to have. I suppose I was reading an entirely different book for an entirely different reason.

The teaching is a good reminder and pursuit in Trusting God with who we really are where no masks are needed, but as a reader I think the presentation may still need more help to come across more clearly for readers.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


