Book Review: A Heart Most Worthy

A Heart Most Worthy
By Siri Mitchell

I finally had time to catch up on some reading for pleasure and A Heart Most Worthy by Siri Mitchell provided a nice escape. Set in 1918, Boston, the novel followed the lives of three young immigrant women finding love and purpose within their circumstances of heartache and struggle.

The three young women were feisty, innocent and strong in their own ways, yet persevered through life’s challenges with tradition, family, poverty and loss. Identity was a nice theme that each character found in their end, being true to whom they are and finding love and acceptance.

While the characters and their family were lively, true to the setting of immigrant Boston and the loom of war, destruction and prejudices of the time, the author writes in a third person, first person method I found irritating. It was like when actors on screen break character and speak directly to the camera. The narrator of the novel breaks and speaks to the reader with statements of a  “you know what I mean” nature that disliked. I didn’t appreciate that voice or speaker filling me in with opinions of what I should think because I wasn’t thinking them to begin with.

It was a sweet novel and a rare look into the immigrant young woman desire for love. There was a strong emphasis on faith and family, looking at self to reexamine to stay strong and believe despite the circumstances.

I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Bethany House.

