How do you deal with students who just don’t care?

I don’t believe students just don’t care. I really don’t. No matter how “hard” the student may be, I really don’t think a student just doesn’t care. There are reasons why a student will not care. It is not my job to counsel that.

Okay, I may be wrong. And for some other teachers, I cannot speak to their experiences because I haven’t had their student, or THE student that just doesn’t care if you speak to them, look at them or even acknowledge them.

The public school system is free and students need to show up because it’s the law. They don’t have to like it or care to get an education so these students take up space and may even disturb those students who really want to learn.

How then do we deal with this type of student in the classroom? It’s funny that most schools will give the pat answer of “make a personal connection” with the student. What if you just don’t relate? Then I suppose you can’t force yourself on the student, so leave ’em alone.

I’ve seen those type of people who just push themselves on others, and in the teacher-student relationship, that would just annoy me more, if I were the student.

As educators, we must remember the basics to child psychology and interpersonal relationship. Sometimes space is all that is needed.

So how would I deal with students who just don’t care? Unfortunately, I’ll just ignore them. I’m sorry. I’m a teacher and I am there to teach those student who want to learn, some of these students are even eager to learn so why give up those precious moments to the type of student who just doesn’t give a crap about you and learning.

We can only reach those who want to be reached and in the public school system there really is a lot more students who are willing to learn, but because teachers focus so much on the ones that give us “trouble” time and life lapses for those who sit around watching the uncaring student get the attention when we, as teachers, can focus on the ones who want to be there and will grow up to amount to something positive.

We cannot focus on the bad at the sake or at the cost of the good. There is too little time and not enough teachers out there to wait around for these uncaring students to come around.

So. . . . me? I don’t have the time to deal with students who just don’t care. When and if they do come around, I can be there, but I cannot force myself or learning on them. . .not at the price of the others who do care. All students need to take responsibility for their own learning.

