Book Review: Doing Virtuous Business

Doing Virtuous Business
By Theordore Roosevelt Malloch

Doing Virtuous Business by Theodore Roosevelt Malloch provides the reader with understanding about the virtues and values that should exist in the business world. It provides explanations of the spiritual foundation that businesses have applied for success and also explain areas where it has not worked.

It was a surprisingly good read for a Business and Culture book because I would rather choose fiction over nonfiction especially for review purposes, but for some reason, this book piqued my curiosity and I was not disappointed.

In today’s economy, with everyone being cautious about finances and spending, I wondered whether businesses out there had the moral ethics to behave and make the right decisions when it comes to providing for consumers. I’d like to think that there are businesses out there responsible enough to think of others rather than using consumers as mere profit opportunities.

This book provided answers that gave hope to understanding that there are organizations and business leadership that do want to do good and are indeed upholding their values and morals to make a positive difference.

Surprisingly, I enjoyed learning about the spiritual capital throughout the facets of business organizations and hearing of faith applied in the successful business leaders. While not necessarily focused on the Christian point of view, and expanding a bit about the positive traits of other religions as applied in the business atmosphere, I didn’t mind so much reading about non-Christian application when it came to faith.

The author spends a lot of the book going over identifying what spiritual entrepreneurship is and giving examples in the business world regarding virtue and values that exist and what went wrong so that others can learn from the mistakes.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

