Book Review: Thriving At College

Thriving At College: Make Great Friends, Keep Your Faith, and Get Ready for the Real World!  by Alex Chediak

When I received a copy of Thriving At College by Alex Chediak, I became a bit cynical about any type of advice given to college-bound Christian teens. I became a Christian only after my college experience and this book intrigued me and I was curious to learn for myself what I didn’t know when I was in college without Christ.

Written by Dr. Chediak from a Christian point of view, the book is filled with everything a high school student would want to know a bout college: academics, social, finances, dealing with parents, etc. The book is a great guide about making friends, balancing social and academic life, understanding your professors, and all the typical need-to-know survival guide of college life, but with for the Christian teen, a reminder to keep your faith in the process.

The author provides illustrations from his own life experiences as a professor and as a college student, but what proves to give this book more thought would be the emphasis on faith and supported with scripture.

As a parent, I appreciate the insight that this book can give teenagers into the college life yet upholding their faith and the awareness of potential pitfalls and temptation, not in the usual sins such as parties, sex and drugs, but also with character, relationships and financial responsibility.

It is a great college guide, but I was much more impressed at the steadfast emphasis on faith and am glad that this type of book is available for every Christian youth to invest and prepare for their future.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC for review purposes only.

