Book Review: The Canary List

The Canary List was remarkable, suspenseful in the right places and an enjoyable read.

I am not used to reading many suspense books being wary of the genre on the onset because I’m more of a casual reader and suspense gets my blood going at a pace where I want to read on and finish the book. I usually prefer romance, but I was not disappointed venturing into another genre.

A teacher mourns the anniversary of his daughter’s death and finds himself involved with one of his student’s troubled home life. This proves more troubling and he becomes entangled in more dangerous affairs than is expected. Each level of trouble introduces another level of evil until it is suspected to be part of the most holiest of places.

Beyond the plot of the story, however, the author, Sigmund Brouwer creates a mood where evil looms all about, even in areas where you would normally trust. I found myself shocked and intrigued that the plot of events could actually happen. The research behind the story background could be possible. It was fascinating.

FTC Blogger Guidelines
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, please mention as part of every Web or Amazon review that WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers has provided you with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.

