Homeschool Schedule and Single Parenting

I am definitely going to take a course on time management… just as soon as I can work it into my schedule.

– Louis E. Boone

The curriculum books from A Beka arrived last week. I was overwhelmed, but excited looking at their recommendations and requirements. I will be using their Video Program (which is a part of the Christian Academy) and in conjunction, all transcripts and records will be associated with the school, even receiving a high school diploma at the end of senior year.

I was looking over their Video Program and the schedule of their how-to and when to submit work for grading. It started to feel rather constricting (by the rules and regulations) required.

Yes, it is homeschooling, but not really. I guess. I needed to remind myself that I can make it my own and adapt it to our needs. I’m a fairly organized person, and don’t live by schedules, but I also have a habit to procrastinate.

I’m not going to be able to follow their recommended schedule, that still reads like the Bell Schedule of the school where I work.

I’m a single mom, my son will be home with grandparents, and maybe his Aunt or Uncle, who are pastors, and flexible with their work schedule, will be around to provide adult guidance from time to time.

Our homeschooling schedule will definitely be a lot different, and this is the beauty of homeschooling that will meet our unique situation.

My initial reaction? Fear.

By the time I get home from work, I am too tired to give anymore to anyone. But I know that cannot be with my decision to homeschool next school year. I’ve resolved within myself, how I need to be with my professional work and personal life, at work that I am truly convicted in this area – to keep my professional business at work, and be free to homeschool my son when it is time to be their for my personal and family life.

Another delimma?

Most homeschooling scenarios I’ve come across are stay-at-home moms with a brood of children. I think that’s awesome, but God knows each of our circumstances, and even as a single parent, I am not neglected, and able to provide through Him, who supplies all our needs.

I came across a post by a graduated homeschooler, now attending college, who was raised by a single mother too. He wrote that she worked at night and schooled him during the day.

It was a great inspiration for me, and I am reminded that once again, all of our situations are different, and I need to stay focused on what God has called me to do rather than compare what may appear to be greener on the other side.

