Charter School Consideration for My Son’s Learning

education
education (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

The summer has been quiet – one of contemplation and lots of rest, especially with my plans for homeschooling this Fall.

The ABeka books curriculum have been ordered and ready to implement, but interestingly enough I am very excited with the prospect of enrolling my son with the Hawaii Technology Academy. While it is still a pubic charter school connected through the Department of Education, it does claim to provide one-to-one curriculum tailored created for his specific needs, including the use of his IEP (individual education plan) for his reading disability.

It doesn’t cost a thing – only a series of steps in the enrollment process. This past week , I had finished the online application and providing the necessary paperwork for consideration. The next step is an apparent Parent Orientation, which I will opt for attendance at a virtual classroom this weekend.

I’m not a stranger to online learning as I am also an eSchool online instructor with the Hawaii Virtual Learning Network. Online so learning I support, provides flexibility and is right up my son’s learning interests in computers. It is a strength and I want to support it.

Enrollment at the public charter school does provide that students to attend the academy in person at least once per week for face-to-face instruction. The rest of the week then, students are free to finish up their lessons online from a laptop.

What I need to prepare myself now is with how to help with my son’s dyslexia. As an educator, this aspect is one of the areas which really concerned me about how to help him academically. A lot of the public school system claims for inclusion help, providing the students help, but still involved in an all general education setting, and how teachers are available for tutoring and his specific needs. This I cannot always count on (and found NOT to be true this past school year).

As an educator, there are professional development that comes along with the job. In my role as an English teacher, I am often sent to workshops and professional development for struggling readers, reading comprehension and also learning to teach english to language learners.

It was challenging at first when my son was younger, because his age group was out of my expertise. But now he is entering the age, where I am more familiar and  can possibly help him more with his reading.

I feel I am sounding like a panicked parent. But really, I will do anything to help my son and so I am always willing to equip myself with the necessary training to help my own child.

