Technology Geeks Unite – ISTE 2012 San Diego

I’m at ISTE this week! What is it exactly? ISTE stands for International Society for Technology in Education – a technology conference for educators. This year the conference is held at the San Diego Convention Center.

It is job related and I’m here with a bunch of other teachers from my school. It’s a free trip basically and I somewhat don’t want to be here but I’m still learning a lot. It’s just that it’s the middle of summer. . . and I really don’t want to focus on the j-o-b. I just want to be at home.

But I’m a geek at heart, and I absolutely love the learning, especially when it comes to technology and gadgets. This year the buzz is all about the iPad, and using Apps in the classroom. Another term that is a buzz in the education world is also the “Flipped Classroom.” More on these later as I process the information.

A lot of it makes sense, and I’m definitely engaged. It’s just the thought that it’s work related doesn’t sound like fun because it feels like “I have to be here” and since they (my employer) paid for everything, I feel more obligated and obligation doesn’t sit well with me.

I can always click with the educational “philosophies” and gist of the overall feel and NOT harp so much on the work-related inconvenience, but there are many good nuggets to glean from:

The current session I’m sitting in is called, “Designing New Spaces for Learning” with a professor from Arizona and he states,

“Children develop through interactions
First with the adults in their lives,
Then with their peers,
Then the environment.”

And shares another aspect by someone else, I’m unsure who from exactly,

“Four metaphors of Learning:

  • Campfire – where we learn from adults
  • The Watering Hole – where you learn from peers to talk about what you learned at the campfire
  • Cave – where you learn from yourself – reflection process
  • Life – where you apply what you learn

Physical environment + Virtual environment = A Learning Ecosystem”

All very cool stuff. Stay tuned as I blog about what I’ve been learning at the conference and how I can tune it to working with homeschooling my son.

