Orton Gillingham Tutoring Scenario

Last summer I took an Orton-Gillingham course in order to help my son with his reading – relearning a lot of rules and strategies for phonics and phonemic awareness. I found it fascinating and even as an English teacher, I learned so much about language in general. So I decided to pursue an Associate’s Level for Certification with the Academy of Orton-Gillingham Practioners and Educators.

As a part of the certification program, I must complete hours of tutoring a child with SLD (specificied learning disabilities) and/or considered Dyslexic. I was apprehensive at first because where do I fit in the time? Well. . . that’s another issue, which I’ll write about some other time.

alphabet
alphabet (Photo credit: Jim Davies)

The student I am working with for the practicum is in the 1st grade, and today was a very good assessment for starters. I had previously worked with the child over the summer, and he could not recognize most of the alphabet, never mind knowing their sounds.

As a secondary teacher, I was out of my element and it reminded me of the frustrations I first felt when my son was first diagnosed with his dyslexia. How do I help this child? Other aspects to consider, this child is raised by his grandmother and currently not allowed to be with his parents (as they have both lost custody). So my heart goes out to children, who may not have the opportunities that others do.

How does this fit on a homeschooling blog? Maybe because it reminds me that we as parents should be ever so mindful to the circumstances out there. It is a  privilege that we as parents can take our children’s schooling into our own hands. There are so many others out there who cannot.

