See the masses, go the other way

Growing up on an island, the obvious answer would be the beach. I love the beach like any other local girl, but I hate the crowds. I can’t stand the masses that go to the beaches and clog the main highway on the North Shore – nothin’ but tourists. Poor locals try to get in and out of their driveway, but weekenders dying for recreation add to the traffic too. I won’t even speak of heading toward the south shores.

Waimea Bay Summer 2007
Waimea Bay Summer 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A saying that has always stuck in my mind is, “See the masses, go the other way.” I don’t really know what a real forest is like aside from the movies, so I thought I’d prefer the mountains, but it would be a bitch to come back down to society. Idealistically, I thought of living up in the mountains near the ocean somewhere. I did live in San Francisco for a little while, and my jaunts to Mt. Tamalpais was exquisite. But then driving back into the city was awful.

I choose my bedroom. Isolated. Productive, entertaining (when I choose). Relaxing. Peaceful. Me.

Today’s Postaday: Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

