Did I Choose the Wrong Homeschooling Format?

My son has been enrolled at a public charter school that utilizes the K-12 Homeschooling Online curriculum, and the format (or expectations) that this school requires is getting on my nerves.

As part of the Hawaii state diploma policy, students report to the Learning Center at least once a week to meet with other students and are provided the classroom experience with a live teacher instructed lesson.

My son stopped attending because the lessons were going over his head and way too fast for him. This is one of the reasons why I pulled him out of public school, to be able to go at his own pace in the learning process. But since he is required to go to the LC at least once a week, he gets pulled out of the larger class and situated within a Special Education classroom for his reading disability.

Reading old Norse
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, the teacher is too anxious, pushing him to complete the assignments because of a percentage rate he needs to reach weekly in order to pass the school year. So of course, my son shuts down. He tells me, “Mom, that’s why we decided to homeschool. So I wouldn’t get pushed too hard and I can learn at m own pace.”

I agree. His teacher however, now accuses that I cannot be his Learning Coach (because he is at home with grandparents who don’t help him). I am a single mom, working full time as an educator. What can I do? We homeschool when I get home from work. While I am at work, he is going over his readings and lessons that he can accomplish without me.

I wish I could stay home, not work, and homeschool (or unschool) my son. The funny thing is I love being a classroom teacher. I just wish I could just teach my son, while he is still young.

4 thoughts on “Did I Choose the Wrong Homeschooling Format?

  1. I don’t know what the laws are about homeschooling there; but it seems that you could probably put together a more appropriate (for him) education plan. During the day, he could do independent work, exercise, do chores, read, possibly meet with other homeschoolers, do field trips, whatever he does for recreation, etc. Then in the evenings and on the weekend, y’all can do considerably more mom-intensive work. It won’t be easy necessarily (I simply cannot imagine working full time, especially as an educator which is considerably more than full time work anyway). It is do-able.

    K-12 is a great program (well, at least til my state got their hands on it). But homeschooling independently will allow you to address the concerns you have for your kiddo 🙂

    I wish you the best 🙂

  2. I understand your frustrations with the charter school. Been there! We withdrew our child and are homeschooling independently. I don’t know if that’s an option for you. But, it was definitely less pressure on all of us.

    1. Thanks Joyce. More and more I’m think I’ll be leaning toward independent homeschooling too. I appreciate the comment. I don’t feel so alone.

Comments are closed.