Confession Pages: What’s the Big Deal?

You know the trend is over by the time the Department of Ed gets wind of it. Well, at least, here in Hawaii. On the news, a couple of weeks ago, the concern over the inappropriateness of school confession pages was exposed.

Apparently, it started over the summer “on the mainland” and the Hawaii school system is finally making some noise about it. A private high school administrator got the media involved. Then it prompted all public school administrators to send letters home to parents.

I was invited to a public high school confessions page by a former student of mine, a few months ago. Like all other social media trends, I just ignored it. Teens will be teens, and they are finding new ways to stir up trouble with technology and the media. I have to give it up to the generations ingenuity, though.

So, of course, since the news story, it piqued my curiosity and I went to visit a couple of confession pages, even my old undergraduate university. Shock doesn’t describe it. I dunno. Appalled. Disgusted. Bewildered.

English: A graph showing where electronic aggr...
English: A graph showing where electronic aggression occurs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was astonished at such exposure. Were my friends and I just as debauched as this generations’ public media confessions when we were their age? Probably, we just didn’t have today’s social media to confess them.

Sexual escapades. Deragotory remarks. Lewdness. Student-Teacher crushes. Definite cyberbullying. As an educator and a parent, I find this morally wrong on so many levels.

But I go back to the ingenuity of this technologically savvy generation. I suspect several of my former students created high school confession pages for their respective high schools and sent me invitations because they probably thought I’d be cool with it. After all, I did encourage freedom of speech, expression and media exploration when they were in my classroom.

Could this be partly my fault for encouraging their exploration and expression? Nah. Confession pages, in my humble opinion, has just found another medium.

This thought could go on several tangents. But for now, education cannot be entirely responsible even though public schools felt the need to inform parents through an official letter, and yes parents need the help, and the church wants to clean it all up, and the government. . .

Somehow this needs to be regulated, but where do we start?

