Book Review: The Maid of Fairbourne Hall

A story like this hasn’t resonated with me in a long time, and I fell in love with the main character – a humbled lady whose dire situation taught her a valuable lesson of identity, and found love. It wasn’t your basic Historical Fiction novel. It had characters that exhibited faith in life and in romance. Maybe it was a typical Christian Historical Fiction novel but I wouldn’t know because I don’t usually read the genre, so I may not be an expert.

I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Bethany House.

All I know is I enjoyed the book.

I’m not one for sappy romances with overt moral themes. When it comes to Christian novels, oftentimes, the preaching may be too obvious and I don’t like it. I may be a Christian and love the Bible and all, but when it comes to reading fiction, I don’t want to be told what to think and what to do, but rather I expect to be entertained with a good story.

The Maid of Fairbourne Halll by Julie Klassen is about a young lady, born into privilege yet is placed in an uncomfortable situation when her wicked step-father schemes a plan to inherit her fortune upon her 25th birthday.

In order to keep her life, virtue and reputation in tact she flees and finds herself in another world, another culture vastly different from her own. Because she grows up in the well-to-do society of Old England’s elite and culture, it is ironic that she finds refuge among the lowly class of servants that would never have otherwise gotten her attention.

While employed as a servant, the young woman is humbled, and filled with understanding about herself, her life and perspectives between the classes and worth as people.

The bonus love story is an added height to the drama. The place she finds employment is within the estate of two former suitors. It wasn’t so much the romance that I followed, but the growth in character of the protagonist.

 The romance and love relationships in the story were sweet and resolved nicely to satisfying end. It also includes pirates, and anti-slavery and abolitionists issues.

Great read.

