My Escape Into Amish Novels

I need to read each Beverly Lewis novel published about the Amish. Because of her novels, I have this huge fascination with the Amish culture. Why? I do not know.

I admire the simplicity of their lifestyle, but I’m sure it has its set of faults as does every other culture in the world. Is the Amish lifestyle somewhat glamorized in these novels? Maybe that is my perception, but it is just a mere escape for me. So I indulge. . .

Admittedly, I’ve read most, if not all, of Beverly Lewis’s  Amish novels and I think the characters and  plot kind of blend. Some of the stories stick out maybe because of the uniqueness of the plot, but for the most part, they blend. It’s not a bad thing because I still enjoy the reads immensely.

I need to review a few now because I am behind my blog reviews.

The Mercy by Beverly Lewis is the last in The Rose Trilogy. What I love about Amish novels are often the twists and turns in family drama. This particular novel has a sister, who left the Amish life and married an Englisher.

However, her daughter falls in love with the Amish culture, and a terrible accident that occurs brought her husband to live in Amish country, where some reconciliation happens between husband and wife.

Reconciliation is the theme and an old friend of the main character comes home, fully realizing the importance of family, despite a non-Amish past.

The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis

She spends time living with an Amish family to sort out her life, finding herself and figuring out what she wants to do with life. She is a classical violinist who finds rest and respite (and love). Will she turn Amish or will her romantic interest remain Amish?

This one was a different read in that the main character is not Amish. Instead, the reader follows the life of the classical violinist and her trials. She is pressured to perform, and finds no pleasure in it any more. Exceptionally gifted with her music, she tires of being the provider of the family and feels pressured to keep up with everyone’s expectations, but losing herself in the process, until she meets Michael.

In parallel fashion, Michael himself is dealing with whether he can commit to being Amish. The family and friend they both have is Joanna, a faithful Amish friend in Hickory Hollow.

The Bridesmaid by Beverly Lewis

So very familiar in series novels, the next installment in the Home to Hickory Hollow follows the life of Joanna, the woman who befriended Amelia in The Fiddler.

Joanna’s ordeal is the heartache that she is always the bridesmaid and never the bride. It is heart wrenching for her to have a long distance relationship with a man from another Amish town that she met briefly and keeping the courtship private.

There is evidence of strong faith in the main character, holding on to her belief that God’s will be done when her other relationships do not share the same sentiments. A strong sisterly bond is tested and stretched. An example of a faithful and strong ancestor helps her to hang on until the very end.

The long-distance  romance take on a strain she cannot imagine, but in the end. . .it all works out. All is forgiven, the family supports her, she is loved, and she gets the guy.

That’s what I love about Amish novels. it is an escape, they go through their trials with faith and strength in God, and the stories have a peaceable end . . .that makes readers believe in happily ever after.

I received complimentary copies of the books for review purposes from Bethany House. In no way do my views reflect anybody’s opinions than my own. 

