Keeping My Distance from Social Network, Not Really

Facebook

Since I was reprimanded for venting inappropriately about a parent teacher conference on Facebook  last school year, I have kept my social networking to a minimal. You can read about what happened, here. The only activity I faithfully do on Facebook is to check on my farm. I couldn’t help it, Farmville 2 has better graphics now. If the game was available outside of FB, I’d delete my account, but Farmville 2 has kept me connected still.

I briefly look at the News Feed except to check the Games Feed so I can collect the free gifts to level up. I’ve honestly blocked a lot of friends’ posts from showing up in the News Feed. I use Facebook mainly to read up on local, national and world news, as well as articles on education that I want to learn about.

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 4.55.28 PM
Farmville 2 piggies
Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 4.57.40 PM
My FV2 Happy Farms

Twitter

I used to tweet before it became an information hub and hashtags were not placed on the corners of the television screen. I’ve created and deleted new accounts in the same sitting, because I just couldn’t get used to it. After I started following people, business, whomever. . . it just became information overload, and it made me jumpy.

Educators claim that Twitter is such a great place to get connected for professional development, but I’ve managed to find these resources without the constant alerts that really get me rather anxious. I needed to keep away.

Pinterest

I love Pinterest. The concept of collecting and pinning whatever interests me is like a pack rat’s dream come true. I used to make collages as a teenager, cutting out magazine pictures and making homemade posters for my room. I wish I still had them. They were filled with 80’s fashion and make up.  Pinterest has reinvigorated my creativity.

I can have a collection of the most obscure things, public or private. They also allow “secret” boards for ones that you don’t wish to expose to others. Here’s a sample of my Pinterest boards:

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 5.19.02 PM
My collection of Pinterest boards.

I’ve pinned a lot of things I’d like to try, but haven’t been able for lack of time. Whether I ever try or not, I know I at least have it on “file” via my Pinterest boards. I did attempt to make homemade eye make up remover, but that was an epic fail. I used toilet paper instead of paper towel, and it was not it!

Pinterest fail - DIY eye makeup remover.
Pinterest fail – DIY eye makeup remover.

Instagram

One last social networking trend I’ve managed to keep away from is Instagram. Once again, I signed up for it a while back, and I quite liked the photo touch ups and sharing aspects, but when it became a trend to start following others, I gave it up freely. I replaced Instagram with PicMonkey as my free online photo editor.

Follow Me and I’ll Follow You

Maybe I tire of the trending “following” aspect because I work with teenagers, and they gauge their popularity with the number of followers you have or don’t have. I won’t fall into peer pressure, I won’t let it define me.

Wait a minute! Don’t I get excited when one of my posts gets a “like”, a comment or a “follow” in the blogosphere? Absolutely! And I thank you for reading. This was just another random post replying to a Daily Prompt: The Social Network: Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

