Make Way for Ducklings

As of today, we have seven official school days left in the year. Previously, I mentioned not liking countdowns, but when everyone around me kept announcing the number of days, it stuck in my mind today. I’m trying to keep a positive attitude, but I am burning out fast.

Yesterday, my eighth graders needed to take photo IDs for 9th grade, and the thought of going to high school scares them. There is an atmosphere of highs and lows in the air, and I know the waterworks will take place on the last day of school next week, but they are reminiscing a lot. . . about elementary school, and their first day of school when they transitioned from elementary school (6th grade) to intermediate (7th and 8th grade).

I love teaching this middle grade. It is a great time of influence on young lives. They are old enough to start thinking seriously about decision-making, and young enough to still be somewhat innocent and impressionable.

On our way to the classroom, I absent mindedly walked the curb like a balance beam and looked behind me to see some of my students mimicking me. They were laughing and remembering how they walked a straight line with their hands behind their backs in elementary school.

I saw what they were doing and it tugged at my heart. As I stood there watching and waiting for the last one, each student walked the sidewalk balance beam. . . They were like my little ducklings. . .*sigh*. It put a smile on my face.

IMG_2407IMG_2408

Make Way for Ducklings in the Boston Public Ga...
Make Way for Ducklings in the Boston Public Garden, Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
2 thoughts on “Make Way for Ducklings

Comments are closed.