the impossible knife of memory; a YA read

I’ve been on a reading spree lately. I need to purposefully  carve out some reading time for myself and get lost in stories. It helps me detox.

Sometimes I just want a fast read that captivates me with real characters and a storyline that is endearing. I found such a story in The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Why do I read YA? Aside from that its fun, I’m not sure. I guess my adult mind is trying to figure some psychological reason and explanation behind it.

I am an English teacher so one obvious reason is to keep abreast of books that could be relevant to the youth of today where I can recommend good reads to students. After all, I do want to encourage kids to read. I suppose that should be a good enough reason.

Although I do have a much deeper interest in the psyche of things and maybe it has something to do with that.

Anyways, this particular YA novel addresses  how a daughter deals with a father suffering with PTSD. I’ve never read fiction that deals with post traumatic stress disorder before especially the effects on a family dependent and surviving high school and contemplating the future. I thought it was a great perspective for the youth to find a voice in an otherwise adult situation but so very much aspects young readers too.

