Thank You Twitter for Connecting Me with Educational Experts

I came across this tweet during lunch today and I had to laugh to myself quietly. My ELA department meeting had an interesting discussion about citations (and how to teach our 7th and 8th graders).

My department colleagues expressed sad comments about how they haven’t written a report in a long time and so don’t know how to teach it.

We were discussing the need to create a handout or a “cheat sheet” as some called it to have students use it during assessments. Some of us spoke against not providing a cheat sheet, while others spoke up for its usage during test taking.

The arguing started small. Some of the teachers didn’t know the difference between in-text and parenthetical citations and the basic format from MLA. It got irritating and when a room full of English teachers start debating the term “college readiness,” it gets philosophical.

We are trying to teach children what to expect, prepare them for their future. We shouldn’t be proving to each other, as adults, how intelligent we are by comparing our college experiences and what format professors asked of us in our undergraduate or graduate studies. I swear ego is involved with those type of meetings.

I suppose I don’t have much respect for some of my co-workers. I thank God for social media when I can glean off the expertise of people like Jim Burke and other professionals. The chart is very helpful for those wanting a quick reference to comparing MLA, Chicago and APA. You can find the attachment here.

Social Media has stunted so many educators, who are finding themselves left behind. Its like the crabs in a bucket syndrome. It is sad, but why must people behave that way?

