Speaking Up for Yourself

What am I most stubborn about?

.  .  . my words.

I am a very opinionated person, but I also do not say words frivolously, even when I am upset.

My words may cut. They bite.

It is not something I am proud of, but the bottom line is that I do own up to what I say and don’t say.

However, no one better not put words in my mouth.

I take responsibility for my actions.

But what grates me most is when someone says, “But you said . . .” to prove their point.

Either they bring up what I had said in the past to make me look bad, or they use it against me.

If anyone is going to quote me, they better get it right.

I really dislike when anyone tries to twist my words or take what I said out of context.

It’s not so much that I need to prove myself right or wrong, but what makes me dig in my heals and not budge is injustice.

I will usually keep an open mind about things, and I will and can listen to opposing points of views objectively, but if they bring me into it, I usually fight for what I believe in. Above all else, there is a right and a wrong. There is no gray; it is either black or white.

Some subjects are not worth the argument and so I choose my words carefully, so if I cannot speak to something, I will not.

When it comes to speaking up for yourself, you are your best defense. No one can say it best, and so you should never back down when you have something to say that needs to be heard.

The wisdom though is to also know when to shut your mouth.

This post was inspired in part by the following: Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | The Daily Post.

