Wasted Days and Wasted Nights: When do I actually get to teach?

This daily prompt triggered my strong dislike of meetings.

Teaching in the public school system (well, in Hawaii) has been different because of the new Hawaii Educator Effectiveness System that was implemented this year. We often joke as a staff, “When do we actually get to teach?” amidst all the testing, the meetings, the professional development.

I just feel that so much time is wasted on trying to be better at what we’re supposed to do when we don’t have the time to apply what we’ve learned. So much time is wasted on complaining, “planning” and not enough time doing.

I really don’t want to waste my time anymore because it is too precious.

Has it changed my personality a bit? Yes, it has made me more impatient that I already am. I’m a bottom-line kind of person. I don’t have much tolerance for the nonsense. And there’s so much to do and so little time. One of my pet peeves is when a topic is rehashed over and over again. I get it that explanation is needed to clarify meaning when trying to work with others. But. .  .

I will not spend another meeting complaining about something that is

  1. not my problem
  2. not my responsibility
  3. something that has already been complained about
  4. something that has no sense of urgency and
  5. low on the priority list.

I was just asked to attend (yet another professional development day) for a school wide reform process that I am a part of. I looked at the schedule for that week and I have a department mandated curriculum two-day workshop to attend. At the end of that week, I am involved with another school wide level committee meeting to “plan” for next school year. I would see my students only one day that week.

Of course I could say “no, thank you” to some of these meetings, but not really. .  .at what cost would that be when attending these meetings are for their benefit, right?

It’s just that some meetings could be better planned, more productive, . . . organized. But these qualities require talent, and not all people presenting these meetings have it. Thus, my strong dislike and feel that such meetings are a waste of time and energy.

Inspired by: Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights | The Daily Post.

